Current Elected Officials


Mayor Tom Menard

Tom Menard was elected to Borough Council in 2018. He has been a life long resident of Mountain Lakes. He started his construction business here which is celebrating it’s 25th year anniversary. His wife, Mary Menard, is also a long time Laker having grown up here as well. He served on the board of the Stickley Museum at Craftsman Farms for 10 years. He is the past President of the Medical Needs Foundation, a member on the Department of Public Works Committee and the Borough Hall Renovation Committee. He has a B.S. in Civil Engineering from the University of Delaware. As an engineer and builder, his strengths lie in reviewing planned infrastructure and development projects and confirming that they are brought in on time, on budget and that they conform with the master plan.


Councilmember Lauren Barnett

Lauren Barnett was elected to Borough Council in 2016.  She has been an active member of the Mountain Lakes community since moving here in 2008 with her husband Dan and three children.  Lauren served on the board of the Home & School Association and the Mountain Lakes Sailing Association.  She chairs the Briarcliff Book Fair and has been active in coaching travel soccer and Destination Imagination, a youth program that celebrates innovation and teamwork.  Lauren has over a decade of experience in management consulting.  She was a Senior Engagement Manager for the Strategy & Change consulting practice of IBM Global Services and also served as the Business Operations Manager for the practice.  Lauren has a Bachelor of Arts from Princeton University and an MBA from Northwestern’s Kellogg School of Management.


Councilmember Cynthia Korman

Cynthia Korman was elected to Council in 2016.  She has lived in Mountain Lakes since June 2000, and has been a long time member of the town’s League of Women Voters.  Cynthia has been a Junior Track coach, and is a member of the town’s Garden Club and Mountain Lakes Professional Womens’ Forum.  She and her husband are the proud parents of three Lakers.
Professionally speaking, Cynthia has owned a small healthcare-industry-focused consulting practice since 1993, and has served on the boards of several professional associations.  She has a BA in Political Science and an MS in Public Policy Analysis from the University of Rochester, and an MBA from New York University’s Stern School of Business.


Councilmember Khizar Sheikh

Khizar Sheikh was elected to Borough Council in 2020. He has been a resident of Mountain Lakes since 2007 with his wife Nadia and two sons. Prior to being elected to Council, Khizar served Mountain Lakes as Zoning Board Vice-Chair, Environmental Commission Chair, Economic Development Committee member, and Little League Executive Board member. His charitable focus is children and families, and he has served as Board Chair of Family Intervention Services and on the Executive Board of Center for Family Services. Khizar is an attorney and provides cybersecurity, privacy, and technology counsel to large, global companies. Khizar is a graduate of Hamilton College (BA, 1996, Biochemistry), Rutgers University (JD, 2003), Leadership New Jersey (Class of 2010), and Leadership Morris (Class of 2013).

Our Democratic County Committee

Leadership Team

Nadia Sheikh, District Chair 

Margaret Capodanno, Vice Chair

Rich Grebe - Treasurer

Megan Chesin, Secretary

Jenny Keyt - Communications 

Sara Forman - Fundraising

Advisory Committee 

Elected Borough Councilpersons

Jenny Smith,  Chair Emeritus 

Janaki Mehta, Youth Liaison

District Chairs

1. Austin Ashley, Nadia Sheikh -  

2. Megan Chesin, Andrew Schinder-

3. Melissa Muilenburg, Sara Forman -

4. Barbra McFadden, Mary Menard -

5. Rich Grebe, Dan Jordan -